Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Denver (AD 1979)
History of the Metropolis

History of the Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Denver

The Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Denver was established in 1979 and extends over a vast area of the western mountain and central plains states. The total population of the states that lie within the Metropolis of Denver is over 45 million people, out of which approximately 35,000, or 0.078% (less than one-tenth of one percent), are members of the Greek Orthodox parishes.

Forty nine parishes and two chapels under the spiritual guidance of His Eminence Metropolitan Isaiah of Denver are scattered throughout 1.285 million square miles encompassing the states of Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming, as well as the western parts of Louisiana and Missouri.

The states which comprise what is now called the Metropolis of Denver were originally under the spiritual jurisdiction of the headquarters in San Francisco. These states later formed the Eighth Archdiocese District, when the Archdiocese of North and South America was subdivided into Archdiocese districts in 1968. During its existence from 1968 to 1977 the Eighth District was administered by the following Assistant Bishops and Archdiocesan Vicars:

  • Bishop Iakovos of Catania 1968-70
  • Reverend William Gaines 1971
  • Bishop John of Thermon 1972-1979

Under the administration of Bishop John of Thermon, the regional headquarters of the Eighth Archdiocese District were relocated from Houston, Texas to Denver, Colorado in 1974.

Although the Diocese of Denver was established by Decree of the Ecumenical Patriarchate in 1979 the first bishop bearing the title Bishop of Denver was not enthroned until 1984. The Hierarchs and Vicars who administered the region from 1979 to 1992 were:

  • Bishop Anthony of Amissos 1979
  • Very Reverend Kallistos Samaras 1980
  • Bishop Kallistos of Zelon 1982
  • Bishop Philip of Daphnousia 1983
  • Bishop Anthimos of Denver 1984-1987 (the first Bishop of Denver)
  • Bishop Kallistos of Zelon 1988-1991
  • Reverend Nicholas Triantafilou 1991-1992

On June 24, 1992 His Grace Bishop Isaiah, became the second Bishop of Denver, relinquishing his former responsibilities as Chancellor of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of North and South America. He was enthroned during ceremonies on September 10, 1992 at the Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Denver.

In November 1997 Bishop Isaiah was elevated to the rank of Metropolitan by the Ecumenical Patriarchate, continuing in his capacity as hierarch of the Denver Metropolis. Metropolitan Isaiah is presently completing his fifteenth year as the presiding Hierarch of the Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Denver.

Civil Statistics of States within the Metropolis of Denver
State or City Area (square miles) Population (in 2005)
Colorado 104,100 4,665,177
Idaho 83,574 1,429,096
Kansas 82,282 2,744,687
Shreveport, LA
Caddo and Bossier Parishes
1,720 356,850
Kansas City, MO
Clay, Cass, Jackson and Platte Counties
2,120 1,041,354
Montana 147,046 935,670
Nebraska 77,358 1,758,787
New Mexico 121,593 1,928,384
North Dakota 70,704 636,677
Oklahoma 69,903 3,547,884
South Dakota 77,121 775,933
Texas 268,601 22,859,968
Utah 84,904 2,469,585
Wyoming 97,818 509,294
Totals 1,288,844 45,659,346