The Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Denver was established in 1979, and extends over a vast area of the western mountain and central plains states. The states which comprise what is now called the Metropolis of Denver were originally under the spiritual jurisdiction of the headquarters in San Francisco. These states later formed the Eighth Archdiocese District, when the Archdiocese of North and South America was subdivided into Archdiocese districts in 1968. During its existence from 1968 to 1977, the Eighth District was administered by the following Assistant Bishops and Archdiocesan Vicars:

  • Bishop Iakovos of Catania 1968-70

  • Reverend William Gaines 1971

  • Bishop John of Thermon 1972-1979

Under the administration of Bishop John of Thermon, the regional headquarters of the Eighth Archdiocese District were relocated from Houston, Texas to Denver, Colorado in 1974.

Although the Diocese of Denver was established by Decree of the Ecumenical Patriarchate in 1979, the first bishop bearing the title Bishop of Denver was not enthroned until 1984. The Hierarchs and Vicars who administered the region from 1979 to 1992 were:

  • Bishop Anthony of Amissos 1979

  • Very Reverend Kallistos Samaras 1980

  • Bishop Kallistos of Zelon 1982

  • Bishop Philip of Daphnousia 1983

  • Bishop Anthimos of Denver 1984-1987 (the first Bishop of Denver)

  • Bishop Kallistos of Zelon 1988-1991

  • Reverend Nicholas Triantafilou 1991-1992

On June 24, 1992, His Grace Bishop Isaiah became the second Bishop of Denver, relinquishing his former responsibilities as Chancellor of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of North and South America. He was enthroned during ceremonies on September 10, 1992, at the Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Denver.

In November 1997, Bishop Isaiah was elevated to the rank of Metropolitan by the Ecumenical Patriarchate, continuing in his capacity as hierarch of the Denver Metropolis.